Leap Year

leap-year

There was a song in the evening that whispered

to the falcon

Alas, I think I will not join in the song

for I fear to sing off-key

Wondering if we will ever see the sun

and if a smile can be summoned

 the messages are done

Disconcerted by the news, she took to the field

running for the love of those she fears

The small crowd demands an encore

the falcon flies ever closer

may he choose not prey

near my life today

Excuses for a new year

anew seem hollow after winter

depart through black gates

I would not see you face my past

that time has passed, and ours cannot last

Now, my dear, I take my leave

Dire Portents can arrive as

closest friends

and a falcon’s work

it never ends

4 thoughts on “Leap Year

Leave a Reply

