Laughing at Fear

tt5ahdO.jpg

Just did some time alone, waiting

solitude bingo mismatches

in suburban trailer park church

fellowships of dixie angels in Wal-Mart tees

I coerce laughter from my mind

but it’s my heart I need to find

Significant I feel the wind

breezes teasing across my face

and I smell the change

though impossible to explain

moving on, falling away

summoned unto the altar of today

screaming prayers fearful of disobedience

I am afraid of the winter

I am afraid of your face

I am afraid of the laughter

I am afraid of losing place

I am afraid of the slaughter

I am afraid of the winter

I am afraid of the hate

I am afraid I grow dimmer

I fear I am too late…

 

16 thoughts on “Laughing at Fear

Leave a Reply

