Repast

SD4

A pallor in the parlor

humdrum conundrums

force-fed cheap tricks

all in the name of desperation

seek a person of shining quality

amongst the rabble of modern society

pressure starts come in parts

reading braille to those that see

out to sea, are we? well, gee

mutton and bread and olive and oil

sanctify the significance for them all

lemonade stand selling soothing beverages

that boggle our dull minds

elastic solutions for the proffered ending

chemical warfare and Tomahawks we keep sending

tempus fugit, time of times, timed out and glum

feel the peeling of the razor cogito ergo sum

castrate the Sandman and offer it all on Ebay

singing somber sonnets in the halls of the deplorable

here today, and maybe tomorrow

war against the coming mandate of fast

conniving to win the sin of a short repast

I am out of ink, I do not think, my heart sinks

with all that they want me to swallow

I compose my lines, most are mine

in the end, just around the bend

it really doesn’t matter

they are just words and no defense

against the shattering of

our chatter

Macbeth said “life is a tale

told by an idiot, full of sound

and fury, signifying nothing”…

 

I believe he vastly overrated us.

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Repast

  1. at 3 am when I couldn’t sleep I was thinking that I should be writing an opening stanza for another collaborative poem. Which I realize has nothing to do with this piece aside from the fact that it reminded me how much I love you work magic with words. There is something brewing right at the edge of my consciousness about vulnerability and reaching out from the edge of a cliff. . .

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You make me fall back in love with freckles
    On a serious note I love this – especially the ‘pressure comes in parts / reading braille’ that was superb.
    On another unrelated note, did you hear they have finally worked out redheads who have the gene, are like 200 times more likely to get melanoma? Grr. So I’m going around like a bee keeper at the moment 😉
    Glorious poem my talented friend.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was in one of those tears and so I read and read about it, had NO idea it was so proven that the mutation causing the color red is found to have zero tolerance to UV to the extent that we can develop Melanoma even without going outside (now that’s just shitty) and our skin is approx 20 years older than say, someone else the same age with dark skin (okay God you’re having a joke now aren’t you?) wouldn’t be surprised if they eventually decide being redheaded is actually dangerous for your health (I could make a lot of off color jokes with that one) I am not a redhead but have the redhead gene and they were saying those who carry it are at the same risk depending upon their coloring so my friend who is black and has a redhaired mom could get these diseases as easily but is less likely to be screened because they would assume she’s immune. The more I learn the more unfair it seems, and yet, some of the most beautiful people have had redhair and some of the strongest. I’m usually thought of as being around 28yrs old so the 20 year ageing thing doesn’t ring true unless you’re say, out doors all the time, but it bears to keep an extra eye on our skin, at times a blessing, at times a curse, like any bright and luminescent thing I suppose, I like that you embrace the beauty of ginger hair because living in europe I heard many unkind things of friends who had redhair.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Candice, t’s awful people saying unkind things about red hair…it’s so unearthily gorgeous!! Of course, there are names here kids use to tease others, but, on the whole, I think a lot of people here admire it. I always wanted it, my grandmother had it and my grandfather fell head over heels for her because of it…spotted her on a crowded dance floor and that was it! 🙂 She lived to 91 in the Australian sun. You just never know ❤

      Liked by 2 people

      1. PS, I forgot to mention, towards the end of her life she did have a lot of melanomas on the back of her hands she got tired of going to the doctor for. So my mother got her a few aloe plants for her room in the rest home, and she put that on a few times each day and healed them 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I couldn’t agree more, although in America redhair is far more valued than in Europe I noticed that and was glad. I agree, it’s very admired here, but for some sad reason they are unkind about it in Europe so much so that families have been hounded out of areas, there have been suicides as a result and threats made, it’s absolutely absurd. Oh and you are so right! I have friends who are very old with redhair it is by no means a harbinger of early death though I do dislike people’s cruelty toward those who are a minority so much I can see how that may even influence how someone lives and feels.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow Mr OP. Another amazing piece. Love how you throw your Latin around…”feel the peeling of the razor cogito ergo sum” fascinating line…
    (there is something about the word “idiot” that I just love…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

