Barbados

Barbados

I went seeking

the Father

and found Barbados

island sands and

ocean mists

cleansing the need

for salvation

the calm killing me

the balmy melancholy

and the dogs barking

in the deep evening skies

my Kismet skewed

by drowsiness

a longing for the

rivers and mountains

of home

my spirit wanes

and flows

like the tides

leaving memories

in thousands of broken

seashells

along the shores

of my mind

keen insights into

the lost times

of the past…

her.

Even though you

were gone

I tried to build

a better world,

as you would have

I took a ship

to look for God

and sailed into the sun

lo, I found a little peace

in the Caribbean wind

blue waters and rum

Quiet came to my raging heart

Never did I find

the Lord above

though he must

have known I sought him

as I was given

some forgiveness

along the beaches of

Barbados

 

 

image courtesy of Pinterest

 

21 thoughts on “Barbados

    1. Thanks Christine. It was actually inspired by my mom’s Pride of Barbados in full bloom in my folks back yard. I was sipping tea in the evening and the story just came to me. I’m so glad you enjoyed it 🙏

      Liked by 1 person

  1. These lines:

    I took a ship

    to look for God

    and sailed into the sun

    lo, I found a little peace

    in the Caribbean wind

    Sailing towards peace. Be away from all that is chaotic.
    The idea of god is a faith that people need within to find closure if not comfort in many aspects of life. Beautiful my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

