Outside the Walls

So this is something new for me.  I tried to write the other side of this song.  I love Kings of Leon.  Caleb is a great songwriter, it’s simple and emotional stuff.  His voice is soulful and rich; he can really get to my heartstrings.  So here we go.

 

[Verse 1]
I can’t get there on my own
You can’t leave me here alone

I’m just trying to do what’s right
Oh a man ain’t a man ‘less he’s fought the fight

[Verse 2]
I could never point you out
Waste of space in a faceless crowd

Tell me what I have to say
If you know what’s right, then you’ll walk away

[Chorus]
When the walls come down
When the walls come down
When the walls come down
When the walls come down

[Verse 3]
One by one I’ve seen em fall

Some just don’t show up at all
I’m just here to fight the fire
Oh a man ain’t a man ‘less he has desire

[Chorus]
And the walls come down
And the walls come down
When the walls come down
When the walls come down

[Bridge]
You tore out my heart
And you threw it away
The western girl with eastern eyes

Took a wrong turn and found surprise awaits
Now there’s nothing in the way
In the way
In the way
In the way

[Chorus]
When the walls come down
When the walls come down
When the walls come down
When the walls come down

[Bridge]
You tore out my heart
You threw it away

The western girl with eastern eyes
Took a wrong turn and found surprise awaits
Now there’s nothing in the way
In the way
In the way
In the way

 

Outside The Walls by OP

And I walked away

I couldn’t stay

I was so afraid

to watch you throw it all away

Only I could see your face

you didn’t see the reflection pass

the distorted mask at the bottom of a glass

and the walls fell all around

I wasn’t made to watch

a man ruin himself and someone else

I can’t be the one to stay

I couldn’t see you fade away

I know I broke your heart

You believed there was nothing in the way

but your love of the fire

burned my love away

I was so afraid

I could not have stayed

it would have been the death of me

the desire you feel

is your need to be free

and your freedom doesn’t lay with me

I hope you tear down those walls

and look at my picture in the hall

I hope you find another day

now your open wide

what you need is on the inside

and the walls fell all around

I know I tore out your heart

Oh I hope, and I pray

that you may

see you’re the one

in the way

4 thoughts on “Outside the Walls

Leave a Reply

