Poet’s Love Song

Brilliant salute to all you poets out there from my dear friend Christine Ray

Brave and Reckless

In Honor of National Poetry Month

I see you

Yes, you poet

You who lives

Behind the misty veil

Dwelling in the border

Between this world

And a hundred other

Shadow worlds

I see you

I see those ink-stained

Fingers

That hold your pen

Like a lover

That fly across the keyboard

In a torrent

Before stopping, hesitating

Waiting

For the flow of words to resume

I see the permanent rings

Countless cups of coffee

Have left on your writing table

The chip in your favorite mug

I see the frayed fabric

On your cuffs

Of your favorite writing shirt

The fabric worn thin at your elbows

I see those mesmerizing eyes

That seem to simultaneously

Be looking through me

Straight into my soul

While studying the cosmos

And gazing inward

All at the same time

I see the contradictions you are

Your eyes are haunting

Full of knowing

Full…

View original post 127 more words

4 thoughts on “Poet’s Love Song

Leave a Reply

