Gag Order

Georgia Park is amazing

I am a poet! I am. I am. I am a poet, I reaffirmed, ashamed.

“Do you think it’s a dishonor to be defeated by God?” -Jack Kerouac, Orpheus Emerged
the world is ending
I can’t listen to NPR lately
without knowing that
and it’s no use fleeing
all the countries are connected
underwater, it’s a deep root system
I believe in Pangea
and ive always known
these last days were coming
but before,
NPR only talked about it
in undertones

so I talk about
sexual harassment
and I battle it
I talk about being single
and how it’s a challenge

but I am watching poets
dangling from the trees
with loudspeakers
and shrieking that they are
covered in the blood
of their people
from police brutality
and thank you for listening
together, we can overcome this
(but it’s almost like
a lynching)

and I know exactly
who is most affected
first. I know who
my allies are
but the fact is that
-and I…

View original post 42 more words

One thought on “Gag Order

Leave a Reply

