To Be Loved

O, Georgia Park!!!

I am a poet! I am. I am. I am a poet, I reaffirmed, ashamed.

(For Rob, who has been chastising me about chastity)

“You’re a little arrogant
but I like that,
I like you. And you’re very beautiful
I’d like to see you again.”

Just like? I’m thinking
I’ve gotten used
to the word love
thrown around carelessly

I love your body
I love your mouth
I love the terrible
things you say
that bring me down
I would love
to take you out

but don’t they know
that my ears perk up
when they use that word
to be loved,
to be loved
I kind of wish
they wouldn’t
throw those kinds of words
around

I want my ears
to stay attached to my head
until I’m ready
to say love
back

View original post

2 thoughts on “To Be Loved

Leave a Reply

